30 Days of Me: Day 13 & semi-reasonable explanation for skipping yesterday

My lieblings,
I’m terribly sorry for missing yesterday’s post but, in case you hadn’t figured by my cuss laden summary of the VSM debate, I was in too mighty a rage to post anything reasonable. So I made an executive decision to leave it until tonight. Hope you cats can forgive me! Please don’t forget to go say hihi to Briony, her day eleven and day twelve are up, yay!

And, without further ado, welcome to your feature presentation.

“A letter to someone who hurt you recently”

Dear Parliament,

I know that we’re not on the best of terms a lot of the time. In fact, I don’t much like a lot of the things that you say or do at the moment. And let’s not even start on the shenanigans of earlier today, Mr Lockwood Smith was well within his rights to reprimand you and it’s childish of you to suggest otherwise.

But this letter isn’t about today.
I think you may know why I’m writing.

Since late 2009 there has been a constant threat from you, one that’s almost entirely uncalled for and certainly isn’t required in its current format. I am, of course, talking about the Education (Freedom of Association) Amendment Bill that was brought forward by Heather Roy of the ACT Party.

This Bill actively seeks to destroy an important part of the student experience. It seeks to destroy the very associations that have helped you out many a time. While I understand that you don’t always see eye to eye and students aren’t part of your voter base, surely having a student voice is important. How else are you going to know what is and isn’t working in Universities? Every other service you provide has a system of feedback, tertiary education should be no different.

In fact I am a die-hard believer in the power of Students’ Associations.
They do a lot of good for the people they represent. They usually listen before acting, their referendums are binding and they look after people that need it Unlike some compulsory associations. How’s that tax cut working for you?

I’m not saying that they’re perfect. The people that run them are human after all. Same as Parliament.
Because of this, sometimes people make stupid decisions and sometimes things get fucked up. Same as with MPs and Parliament.

But I digress. I honestly think that you’re going to do more harm than good if you let that Bill stick around. Frankly, I’m concerned that you’re going to cause a massacre. So I would appreciate if you could please kick it out.

I’m sure it can find a new home. Somewhere in America maybe?
Far away from us, somewhere it’ll fit right on in. And they’ve got Twinkies. It’ll be fine.

And uh, once you’ve done that I’ll need you to go on ahead and file a T.P.S. report.

Thanks a bunch!
I’ll see you in November if not before.

Ninja.

4 Comments

Filed under Irrelevancy or Madness?, Politically Inclined

4 responses to “30 Days of Me: Day 13 & semi-reasonable explanation for skipping yesterday

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Me: Intro and why | [Head/Desk]

  2. brionyjae

    Hear, hear!! 🙂 You have me convinced!

    • Huhzah!
      It honestly breaks my heart that the Bill has even progressed this far, in case you hadn’t picked by my angry ranting the other day. If only I could convince the National Party as well!!

  3. Pingback: Day 13 — A Fictional Book « Owls For Briony Jae

Leave a Reply

