30 Days of Me: Day 09

“Something you’re proud of in the past few days”

I’m rather proud that I’ve managed to keep this blog a day thing up for longer than a week, I’ve had a lot of trouble with continuing projects recently. Which means that I’ve got a bunch of half-finished things and roughly sketched ideas. So hopefully I’ll be able to carry this through to other things.

I could have stared for hours

The view from the lookout over to one of the falls, there's another just to the right of where we're standing.

Of course having Sofishie and Briony doing this with me has also been a great incentive, I’ve loved trading comments with them and cheering each other on.

Another thing I’m really proud of is also pretty mundane. We went out for a short tramp today in the Waitakere’s, to the Mokoroa Falls lookout then down the stupidly steep track to the stream.

And yes, I do mean stupidly steep. There were parts when it felt like we were nearly vertical going down and it was even worse heading back up!

The track we took was maybe 4km round trip but it’s still 4km more of hills than I could have walked this time two years ago. How good an idea it was, we’ll see in the morning. Thus far my knee is just fine, so I’m really hoping that I’ll be able to get back into tramping and maybe eventually real sports.

I miss football.

So my plan is to eventually complete every single track in the Waitakere’s. There’s a few more around the area we were in. The Goldie Bush Walkway takes a higher route before coming down to the stream where we were and following the track we took. The Mokoroa Stream Track branches off from the Goldie Bush Walkway, involves a few stream crossings and is the best way to get right near the waterfalls.

Looking all mysterious or accomplished or something.

Nino and I at the farthest point we could get to without fording the stream. I'm not sure what he's looking at though.

Then there’s, literally, another hundred or so tracks to get through.

Challenge. Accepted.

Speaking of challenges, don’t forget to check out Briony’s post from today. Featuring a rather fetching photo.
Sofishie, I’m sure, will have an equally exciting post up shortly. We’ll have a double feature from her tomorrow.

So, what have you cats been up to recently? Anyone pulled off anything exciting?

’til tomorrow
Ninja ❤

 

Edit: All photos used in this post (Yes, both of them!) were taken by Fox on his iPhail device. Not bad for an overpriced paperweight, ay.

7 Comments

Filed under Irrelevancy or Madness?

7 responses to “30 Days of Me: Day 09

  1. brionyjae

    Wow, that’s what I love about New Zealand!! A good tramp is never really far away. You inspire me!! 🙂 Beautiful scenery. Lovely 🙂

    • There’s so many gorgeous tramps around here too, I’m looking forward to trying to get through them all!
      Gunna start tramping back around home as well, if we head back for the summer again. I’m so excited!!

  2. Pingback: Day 09 – Something you’re proud of in the past few days « anything about bugs

  3. Pingback: Day 07 — A Photo That Makes You Happy « Owls For Briony Jae

  4. Oi! Where’s your attributions on those photos? I distinctly remember a handsome-looking fellow taking those very pictures, I believe he deserves a mention! :3

    Love you really! ❤

  5. Pingback: 30 Days of Me: Intro and why | [Head/Desk]

Leave a Reply

