National Poetry Day…

I don’t care that it’s coming up 3:30am.
You know why? Because I’m just going to call drinking rules on anyone who brings it up. That’s right.  (For those of you who don’t know, drinking rules in regard to a ‘Day’ state that a Day only ends when the last person has passed out OR the sun has completely risen) I haven’t been to sleep yet. Rather I’ve been watching fabulous movies and whilst thinking long and hard about this post.

You see, while I’ve really enjoyed the choices that have come floating through my twitterfeed, they’ve all been similar styles. Which is to say delightful ballads, written word, both new and old.

So I thought it was only fair that I share a few of my favourites.

Starting with Dorothy Parker, a rather amazing writer from the early to mid 1900s.
One of her most quoted pieces is Resume

“Razors pain you
Rivers are damp
Acids stain you
And drugs cause cramp
Guns aren’t lawful
Nooses give
Gas smells awful
You might as well live.”

Whereas my personal favourite, which I’ve quoted many a time, is The Flaw in Paganism

” Drink and dance and laugh and lie,
Love, the reeling midnight through,
For tomorrow we shall die!
(But, alas, we never do.) ”

My other favourite style, which I’m starting to experiment with, is spoken poetry’s competitive side: Poetry Slams.
I love the combination of raw performance with the smoothness of the writing, the rhthym with emotion riding overtop and audiences held enthralled as a stranger on stage gives them everything.
Most of all, I love just how beautiful these pieces are.

Cristin O’Keefe Aptowicz is currently one of my female slammer idols, despite her style being very different to mine. These two are probably my favourites.


My other favourite, who I came across shortly after I started writing again, is Sarah Kay.
This is a piece she did for the TEDconference earlier this year. Watch it, all 18 minutes, I guarantee you won’t be disappointed.

And, for those of you that have made it thus far and are intrigued about my writing at all, here’s one of my favourite poems I’ve written in the last couple of years. At least, my favourite that’s short enough to share on here.

Just say yes

Who knows where tomorrow’s going to take you?
I sure as hell don’t
So say yes
Go on
Be a rebel
Who cares if it isn’t the life your mother wanted for you?
She isn’t you
You’re not her
It’s your life
Get out there and live it
Say yes
Leap lick grasp grab clutch
Take every damn opportunity
You never know where they’ll take you
Life isn’t worth living if you’re not challenging yourself
So get out there
Do it
Say yes.
Find that thing that makes you grin like a madman
That makes your thoughts catch fire
And grab it
Make it yours
Because if you don’t
Who knows what you’ll miss?
There’s so much to gain,
So little to lose.
Fuck man you could miss out on so much.
So freaking much!
And
Honestly
Is a life time of mediocrity really what you want?
Existing
Not living
Existing
Just say yes
Who knows where it’ll lead?
Just
Say
Yes

1 Comment

Filed under Irrelevancy or Madness?, Writing and Querk

One response to “National Poetry Day…

  1. Pingback: Welcome! | Montage Lane

Leave a Reply

