Three days to doom us all

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m loving writing again.

I adore the writing group that I’ve fallen in with, it’s more enjoyable when you’re writing with people instead of for people.
The Querkites, as the members have been dubbed, are terribly interesting bunch. They provide timely prods, inspiration and respite. And have been, frankly, the highlight of NaNoWriMo 2010.

NaNoWriMo, for the uninitiated (sane?) ones amongst us, is National Novel Writing Month.
Fifty thousand words in thirty days, making an average of one thousand six-hundred and sixty-seven words per day. Assuming you write every single day that is.

I’m proud to say that I managed to complete the challenge. Just.
A series of minor set backs over the month left me seriously ill with 21 thousand words to write and 3 days to do it in. Fortunately the sickness meant that I couldn’t go to work, so I had a lot of time to write in between naps. And write I did, squeaking in with 50,088 words and ten minutes to spare.

In short, NaNoWriMo is madness. Utter madness.

And now I’ve been informed of another challenge by Phobia’s, another Querkite.

Three day novel (http://www.3daynovel.com/) is a challenge laid down by a bunch of Canadians, originating some thirty-four years ago, to write a short novel in 72 hours.

A short novel being around a hundred pages, so thirty thousand words. Ten thousand words per day.
Doable. As long as you don’t intend to do anything else over that weekend such as take meal breaks or have a bath.

So we put it forward to the group. An unofficial one to be held over Easter Weekend.
There’s still a lot of details to be finalised but it looks like a goer.

And, call me a loon, I’m excited.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing and Querk

Leave a Reply

